Saturday, January 5, 2013

Whispers in the Shadow

Country of origin: Austria
Year of creation: 1996
City/ Location: Vienna
Official site:
ASHLEY DAYOUR (Voice, Guitar)
FORK (Bass)
MARTIN ACID (Keyboards)
Official contact mail: [email protected]

Official Biography
Whispers in the Shadow was formed by Ashley Dayour (Voice, Guitars) back in the days of early summer 1996. The Band Name was inspired by a story from H.P.Lovecraft: The Whisperer in the Dark.

After beginning as a very 80's inspired band, with drum computer sequences and a melodic bass guitar, this project turned into an individual band, which is now described by the press as "Post Gothic Rock". In the meantime the band has included a "real" drummer in their line-up and became famous for their obvious live qualities. The partly furious, partly sad guitars meet booming bass sounds, thunderous drums and psychedelic keyboards - Above all Ashley's voice, bursting with emotion. To date they released 6 studio, 2 live and 1 remix albums

Throughout the years Ashley's lyrics, originally inspired by authors like Philip K. Dick or H.P. Lovecraft, also found there own identity. Strongly influenced by occult writers such as Austin Osman Spare, Aleister Crowley or Kenneth Grant (amongst many others) Ashley’s main purpose of the lyrics is to create images in the head of the listener.

In 2008 they released their 5th studio album INTO THE ARMS OF CHAOS which was the first one of a 4 album concept based on the 4 alchemistic phases of transformation.
This album was produced by John A. Rivers, also known for his work with artists such as Dead can Dance, Clan of Xymox or Love & Rockets.

In early 2010 they released the 2nd part of this epic conceptual work: THE ETERNAL ARCANE. Followed in 2011 with their first full lenght live DVD, SEARCHING FOR CHAOS and the 6 track EP The Lightbringer another conceptual release about the fallen archangel Lucifer.

2012 saw the release of their 7th studio album THE RITES OF PASSAGE feat.
an epic video to the titlesong and another european tour. 

Official Discography

• 1997 - Laudanum
• 1999 - November
• 2000 - A Taste of Decay
• 2001 - Permanent Illusions
• 2003 - Everything You Knew was Wrong (Live & Rarities)
• 2007 - A Cold Night (Live in Vienna, 25. Oktober 2006)
• 2008 - Into the Arms of Chaos (Ltd. Edition incl. Live DVD)
• 2009 - Borrowed Nightmares & Forgotten Dreams (Remix & Rarities)
• 2010 - The Eternal Arcane
• 2011 - Searching for Light (DVD - Live on Vienna 2010 +
• 2011 - The Lightbringer (EP)
• 2012 - The Rites of Passage
• 2012 - If Wormwood Falls (download live album)

Post a Comment