Sunday, December 30, 2012


Country of origin: UK
Year of creation: 1980
City/ Location: Coventry
Official site: Attrition
Members: Martin Bowes.... with guests...
Official contact mail: [email protected]

Official Biography:
ATTRITION are pioneers in a darker electronica. Formed in 1980 in Coventry, England, influenced by a mix of punk ideology and experimental art aesthetics, they emerged as part of the early '80's UK Industrial scene alongside contemporaries Coil, Test Department, Legendary Pink Dots, In The Nursery, Portion Control et al. 

Founder Martin Bowes has steered the band through a 30 year career, fuelled by a succession of critically acclaimed albums...a selling over 90,000 to date. The band has regularly toured Europe, North America and South America, Russia and Asia, appeared at major festivals and had their music included on a number of film soundtracks.... (recently two of their songs are included on the US cult  film “Mint in box” alongside the Pogues…).

Through their career Attrition have worked with musicians as diverse as psychedelic veterans The Legendary Pink Dot’s to punk legend TV Smith to Franck Dematteis of the Paris Opera.

Attrition’s music has featured on countless releases - from 1984’s “Bullshit detector 3” on Crass records to the hugely successful “Animal liberation” album alongside Siouxsie & the Banshees, The Smiths, Nina Hagen & Lene Lovich etc… Their  song “Acid Tongue” featured on KTEL’s Industrial story CD - a who’s who of  industrial music with Cabaret Voltaire, Throbbing Gristle, Ministry, Nitzer Ebb, Neubauten et al…
In Germany Orkus magazine’s Best of the 90’s collection featured their darkwave classic “A girl called harmony”…

Attrition’s work been remixed by underground artists from an eclectic mix of genres including Chris n Cosey, Martin Atkins, Dance or Die and UK drum n bass act Rascal & Klone…(featured on the first Grand Theft Auto game soundtrack..)

Martin’s increasing studio production work has included mixes for The Damage Manual (Martin Atkins, Jah Wobble, Geordie Walker, Chris Connelly et al…), Die Form, In the Nursery, Black tape for a blue girl, Mona Mur/En Esch and more… 

He contributes synths and vocals on a song on the last Pigface album and is recording the narrators voice to an upcoming US horror film, “C for Chaos”…

ATTRITION are currently touring and working on their upcoming album… “the unraveller of angels…”

Official Discography

  • 1982. This Death House a soundtrack
  • 1983. Action and reaction
  • 1984. The Attrition Of Reason
  • 1985. Smiling, At The Hypogonder Club
  • 1986. In The Realm Of The Hungry Ghosts
  • 1988. At The Fiftieth Gate
  • 1991. A Tricky Business
  • 1993. The Hidden Agenda
  • 1995. Ephemera a soundtrack
  • 1996. Three Arms & A Dead Cert
  • 1997. Etude classical interpretations
  • 1999. The Jeopardy Maze
  • 1999. Esoteria a collection of ambient works
  • 2000. Heretic Angels  live in the USA
  • 2000. The Hand that Feeds the remixes
  • 2001. Keepsakes & Reflections rarities
  • 2003. The Eternity LP a collection of classical remixes and rarities
  • 2004. Dante’s Kitchen
  • 2006. Tearing arms from Deities the twenty five year anniversary collection
  • 2006. Something Stirs. The beginning. 1981 – 83
  • 2008. All mine enemy’s whispers. The story of Mary Ann Cotton
  • 2009. Kill the Buddha! Live in Europe & the USA
  • 2010. Wrapped in the guise of my friend. Covered. 17 songs re-interpreted by others
  • 2011. Demonstro. 1981 – 86 a double vinyl album of early rarities
  • 2012. The Truth in Dark corners. Live in Holland. 1985

Post a Comment